Buying A Gun In Michigan
Swadish said the real issue is federal law cannot require states to report mental health records to the federal agencies that conduct background checks. As a result, some individuals, that by law are prohibited from buying a gun due to a mental illness, can pass background checks and obtain a firearm.
buying a gun in michigan
Getting information about the specification of the gun you wish to own is best before buying it. You can choose anything from the gun shop despite the right to bear arms except for assault weapons like machine guns, stun guns, and short-barreled shotguns.
If you are not buying from a Federal Firearm Licensed (FFL) dealer, you must secure a purchasing permit from your local police agency. If you have a Concealed Pistol License (CPL), you do not need to acquire a RI-60 and LTP that has validity for 30-days, as amended last December 18, 2012. You would need a valid photo ID before you are given this permit.
Yes, a gun dealer can delay or refuse a long gun purchase in Michigan if the buyer makes a statement. The buyer is also barred from buying a rifle because of conviction of a crime or mental issues and involuntary mental health treatment concerns.
Felony charges for buying these weapons can also be brought when a licensed gun dealer sells an illegal weapon. In the case of gun deals, they would likely get their license revoked in addition to having the deal with the criminal charges.
Anyone buying a firearm from a licensed firearms dealer must complete a Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco & Firearms form 4473. The purchaser must, under the permanent provisions of the Federal Brady Law, also undergo a National Instant Criminal Background Check System check, which will be performed by the licensed firearms dealer.
Federal law prohibits the sale of most firearms (including handguns) to people who live in a different state from where the sale is taking place. Dealers who have a Federal Firearms License (FFL) may sell rifles or shotguns to people who live in a different state, but only if this would comply with the laws of both the state where the sale is taking place and the state where the person lives. Texas law does not prohibit Texans from buying firearms in a different state.
If you are buying a handgun from an authorized dealer, then you do not need a purchase permit - you can go directly to the dealer. There is a $5.00 notary fee for notary services applied to gun permits.
Concealed Pistol License holders are required to use a Pistol Sales Record upon the purchase of their handgun. This form can be obtained from the Kent County Sheriff's Office or from www.michigan.gov website. (Type in 'pistol sales record' or 'RI-60' in the advanced search box.) These should be filled on the (3) part form and distributed as follows: Seller, Purchaser, and Michigan State Police. The Michigan State Police copy must be returned to the Kent County Sheriff's Office within 10 days from the date you purchased your handgun. You are no longer required to bring your handgun in to the Sheriff's Office for a safety inspection. The handgun information will be entered into the computer based on the MSP copy of the pistol sales record you have returned to the Sheriff's Office. Once we have entered the appropriate information we will forward the MSP copy to their office.
Federal law sets a dangerously low minimum age for buying firearms. While the law requires a person to be 21 to purchase a handgun from a licensed firearm dealer, it only requires a person to be 18 to buy a long gun, including an assault weapon, from a dealer. The law is even weaker for purchases from unlicensed sellers, with a 18-year old minimum age for handguns and no minimum age for long guns. Many states have raised the age, barring handgun sales to people under 21 and long gun sales to people under 18. The strongest policies generally bar all purchases before a person turns 21. A full discussion on Prohibitors is here.
Martin ran an illegal gun trafficking business, charging customers $50 to $100 per firearm to lie on the purchase forms, saying he was buying the guns for himself when he was purchasing them for other people, according to the U.S. Department of Justice in the Monday release. The tactic is referred to as straw purchasing.
"Martin knew that his customers, who were convicted felons, were prohibited from buying guns for themselves," the U.S. Department of Justice wrote. "He also knew some of his customers were reselling guns to other people. Martin capitalized on his lack of criminal history and ability to purchase guns and then sell those firearms to prohibited persons for a profit."
Michigan law requires someone buying firearms such as rifles or shotguns to be 18 years or older and at least 21 years old to purchase a handgun from a federally licensed dealer. Certain licenses allow 18-year-olds to purchase handguns from private sellers.
You only need a Permit to Purchase if you are buying a handgun from a private citizen. If you are purchasing a handgun from a licensed gun dealer, they will handle the background check at their facility. If you have a valid Concealed Pistol License (CPL) you do not need a purchase permit to buy a gun from a private citizen. If you do not qualify for either of the above and need a Permit to Purchase, please come to the Westland Police Department Records Bureau Monday-Friday 9am to 4pm to begin the application process. Applicants must have a valid ID and be a Westland resident. 041b061a72